News and Impact

Bartlett and Knapp Selected 2017 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence recipients

Two long-time academic leaders in Fairbanks and Anchorage are the recipients of the University of Alaska Foundation’s most prestigious award – the Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence. Michelle Bartlett, Director of Summer Sessions and Lifelong Learning at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and Gunnar Knapp, Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Alaska Anchorage, will each receive $10,000 for their significant contribution to the UA System.

“Each year, a candidate for the Edith R. Bullock Prize stands heads above the rest of the candidates. This year we had two who stood out from the pack. It was too hard to choose one over the other, since both are so deserving,” said Foundation Board Chair Scott Jepsen. “Michelle and Gunnar are champions for the University of Alaska and Alaska’s future.”


Read the full story here


Stories that Inspire

Featuring inspiring stories from donors and students that demonstrate exactly why giving to higher education is so powerful and life-changing. Read all of the inspiring stories here.

UA Foundation News Archive

Browse our archive of previous Foundation news stories and news from around the University. Click here for our complete archive

Back to Top